DFP Header Code & Crazy Egg

Jump to main content
Sharks Squad Announcement

Sharks Squad Announcement

Four Changes for Sale Sharks Squad in Saturday’s Game Against Saracens

Sale Sharks have announced their squad for their Aviva Premiership Round 2 game at home to Saracens on Saturday 8th September (kick off 4.30 p.m.). This will be the competitive opener at the club’s new home, the Salford City Stadium.

The fifteen shows four changes from last Saturday’s game, with Mark Cueto, Danny Cipriani, Kearnan Myall and Richie Vernon making their first starts this season. Marc Jones, Cillian Willis and Andy Powell are ruled out through injury.

Mark Easter had to withdraw on Saturday morning and was replaced by James Doyle.

Sale Sharks squad: 15.Rob Miller, 14.Will Addison, 13.Johnny Leota, 12.Sam Tuitupou, 11.Mark Cueto, 10.Danny Cipriani, 9.Dwayne Peel, 1.Eifion Lewis-Roberts, 2.Joe Ward, 3.Vadim Cobilas, 4.Richie Gray, 5.Kearnan Myall, 6.James Gaskell, 7.David Seymour (capt.), 8. Richie Vernon

Replacements: 16.Tommy Taylor, 17.Alasdair Dickinson, 18.Henry Thomas,  19.Fraser McKenzie, 20.James Doyle, 21.Will Cliff,  22.Nick Macleod, 23.Corne Uys

Sale Sharks’ Director of Rugby Bryan Redpath said, “We’ve got to make sure that our first focus is performance. We’re playing against one of the top sides in the Aviva Premiership. We have a lot of respect for what Saracens have built over the last three or four years. It’s not going to be easy, but we need to concentrate first and foremost on ourselves, giving our supporters something to cheer in our first game in our new stadium.”

Sharks Fact: The Salford City Stadium becomes the 32nd new venue to host a Premiership encounter.

 Saracens have named an unchanged team from that which beat London Irish 40-3 last Saturday.

Saracens squad: 15.Alex Goode, 14.Chris Ashton, 13.Joel Tomkins, 12.Brad Barritt, 11.Chris Wyles, 10.Charlie Hodgson, 9.Richard Wigglesworth, 1.Mako Vunipola, 2.Schalk Brits, 3.Petrus du Plessis, 4.Steve Borthwick, capt., 5.Mouritz Botha, 6.Kelly Brown, 7.Will Fraser, 8.Ernst Joubert

Replacements: 16.Jamie George, 17.Jared Saunders, 18.Carlos Nieto, 19.Alistair Hargreaves, 20.Jackson Wray, 21.Neil de Kock, 22.Owen Farrell, 23.James Short

To buy your tickets for Sale Sharks v Saracens at Salford City Stadium this Saturday (KO 4.30pm), visit our official ticketing website.

If you’ve already bought your ticket, make sure you come down early to avoid missing all the entertainment planned for the day. To find out more, click here.

Sign Up

Our subscribers always receive the latest breaking news, offers and discounts before they're published anywhere else.