TEAM NEWS | Sale Sharks v Harlequins

Manu Tuilagi returns to the Sharks starting line-up and he’s joined by four more England stars as Alex Sanderson makes three changes to his side to face Harlequins on Sunday in front of both the ITV and BT Sport cameras (live on BT Sport, ITV – 3pm KO).

Lock Cobus Wiese also returns to the XV after a week off and Jono Ross captains the side as Sharks go in search of eight wins out of eight against Tabai Matson’s men.

An ankle injury to Akker van der Merwe means an unchanged front-row will line up against Quins, as academy graduate Ewan Ashman packs down between Nick Schonert and round six man of the match Bevan Rodd once again.

In the second row, Jonny Hill resumes his partnership with the returning Wiese.

And in the back row Tom Curry, who recorded the most turnovers (five) across the league in round six lines up at openside flanker alongside skipper Ross and Dan du Preez at number eight.

Fresh from a week training with England, Raffi Quirke starts again at scrum-half, and he’s joined by the Premiership’s top points scorer Rob du Preez at fly-half.

After missing the win against London Irish, Tuilagi will wear the 12 shirt against Quins, with the ever-present Sam James at outside centre.

The back three is unchanged as round six try-scorer Joe Carpenter takes his place in between Tom O’Flaherty and Tom Roebuck.

Tommy Taylor, Simon McIntyre and James Harper provide power and front-row experience on the replacements bench, and further forwards cover comes from Josh Beaumont and Jean-Luc du Preez.

The backs are covered by academy graduates Gus Warr and Arron Reed, as well as Sam Hill, who played 80 minutes for the first time in more than two years against the Exiles.

Sale Sharks Starting XV:  

15. Joe Carpenter, 14. Tom Roebuck, 13. Sam James, 12. Manu Tuilagi, 11. Tom O’Flaherty, 10. Robert du Preez, 9. Raffi Quirke; 1. Bevan Rodd, 2. Ewan Ashman, 3. Nick Schonert, 4. Cobus Wiese, 5. Jonny Hill, 6. Jono Ross ©, 7. Tom Curry, 8. Daniel du Preez


16. Tommy Taylor, 17. Simon McIntyre, 18. James Harper, 19. Josh Beaumont, 20. Jean-Luc du Preez, 21. Gus Warr, 22. Sam Hill, 23. Arron Reed

Related articles

  • News


    Read more
  • Mens


    Read more