TEAM NEWS | Saracens v Sale Sharks

Simon McIntyre, Tommy Taylor, Josh Beaumont, Arron Reed and captain Ben Curry all return to the Sharks line-up to face Premiership leaders Saracens, (Sunday, October 30 – 3pm KO, live on BT Sport) as Alex Sanderson’s men look to bounce back after suffering their first defeat of the season against Harlequins.

With six of his first team stars called up by England for the Autumn International Series, the Sharks DoR has gone for an experienced matchday squad to face his former employers as his current side look to put the round seven loss behind them.

Akker van der Merwe is still recovering from his ankle injury, so Tommy Taylor starts his first Premiership game of the season at hooker and he’s flanked by McIntyre and Nick Schonert in the front row.

Jonny Hill’s absence means Josh Beaumont gets his chance to start in the second row alongside Cobus Wiese.

And in the back row, captain Curry is joined by blindside flanker Jean-Luc du Preez and Dan du Preez at number eight.

Gus Warr returns to the side at scrum-half alongside fly-half Rob du Preez, and in the centres, Sam Hill lines up with the ever-present Sam James.

After Tom Roebuck received his first England call-up last week, Arron Reed returns to the starting line-up on the wing, with Tom O’Flaherty and Joe Carpenter making up a pacy back three.

Academy products Ewan Ashman, Ross Harrison and James Harper provide front-row cover on the bench, with Sam Dugdale and Jono Ross, who celebrated his 32nd birthday on Thursday, covering the rest of the forwards.

Joe Simpson, Tom Curtis and the returning Byron McGuigan, who is featuring in a Premiership matchday squad for the first time this season, are the backs replacements.

Sale Sharks Starting XV:  

15. Joe Carpenter, 14. Tom Roebuck, 13. Sam James, 12. Sam Hill, 11. Tom O’Flaherty, 10. Robert du Preez, 9. Gus Warr; 1. Simon McIntyre, 2. Tommy Taylor, 3. Nick Schonert, 4. Cobus Wiese, 5. Josh Beaumont, 6. JL du Preez, 7. Ben Curry ©, 8. Daniel du Preez


16. Ewan Ashman, 17. Ross Harrison, 18. James Harper, 19. Jono Ross, 20. Sam Dugdale, 21. Joe Simpson, 22. Tom Curtis, 23. Byron McGuigan.

Related articles

  • Womens


    Read more