Sale Sharks Mens 2021-22 Squad Confirmed

Sale Sharks is proud to announce its 55-player squad to compete in the Gallagher Premiership, the Heineken Champions Cup and Premiership Rugby Cup during the 2021/22 season.

There were only three departures from the club over the summer, with front-rowers Valery Morozov Jake Cooper-Woolley and Will Griff John exiting the Sharks’ front-row union.

Director of Rugby Alex Sanderson also welcomed three new faces to Carrington, including two former Sharks. Both prop Simon McIntyre and Macclesfield-born hooker Tommy Taylor started their careers at Sale and return to the club from Wasps Rugby. Powerhouse tighthead prop Nick Schonert also joins the squad after leaving Worcester Warriors following seven years in the Midlands.

The squad is boosted with the addition of Sharks Academy players Nye Thomas and Jack Metcalf who join the first team for their maiden season.

Jono Ross is named as Club Captain.


Akker Van Der Merwe (hooker), Ben Curry (back-row), Ben Carlile (prop), Bevan Rodd (prop), Callum Ford (prop), Cameron Neild (back-row), Coenie Oosthouizen (prop), Curtis Langdon (hooker), Daniel Du Preez (back-row), Ethan Caine (hooker), Ewan Ashman (hooker), Ewan Murphy (second-row), Jacobus Weise (back-row/second-row),James Harper (prop), James Phillips (second-row), Jean Luc Du Preez (back-row/second-row), Jono Ross (Captain) (number 8),  Joshua Beaumont (back-row/second-row), JP Du Preez (second-row), Lood De Jager (second-row), Matt Postlethwaite (second-row), Nick Schonert (prop), Olatumy Onasanya (prop),  Ross Harrison (prop), Rouban Birch (back-row), Simon Mcintyre (prop), Samuel Dugdale (back-row), Tom Curry (back-row), Tommy Taylor (hooker).


Aaron Reed (wing), AJ MacGinty (fly-half), Anerin (Nye) Thomas (scrum-half), Byron McGuigan (wing), Connor Doherty (centre), Denny Solomona (wing), Elliot Gourlay (full-back), Francois De Klerk (scrum-half), Gus Warr (scrum-half), Jack Metcalf (centre), Joseph Bedlow (centre), Joseph Carpenter (full-back), Kieran Wilkinson (fly-half), Luke James (centre/full back), Manu Tuilagi (centre), Marland Yarde (wing), Raphael Quirke (scrum-half), Rob Du Preez (fly-half), Rohan van Rensburg (centre), Sam James (centre), Sam Hill (centre), Simon Hammersley (full-back), Tom Curtis (fly-half), Tom Roebuck (wing), Will Cliff (scrum-half).

Related articles

  • Mens

    Sharks look to make European impact in Champions Cup

    Read more