World Rugby has confirmed that Sale Sharks’ Salford Stadium will be one of eight host venues for the Women’s Rugby World Cup 2025, which kicks off in exactly two years. 

Following a competitive selection process, Manchester was selected to be one of the host cities for the biggest-ever celebration of women’s rugby, which gets underway on August 22, 2025, and concludes with the final on September 27. 

World Rugby and the RFU, with support from the UK Government, today confirmed the host cities, venues and tournament dates for the 10th edition of the showcase event, which will be the most accessible ever.  

The final roster of host cities and venues reflects the tournament’s core mission of growing the sport, taking rugby across the country and engaging with diverse communities. All will provide a family-focused festival of rugby.  

The biggest-ever celebration of women’s rugby – the host cities and venues  

  • Brighton and Hove – Brighton and Hove Albion Stadium 
  • Bristol – Ashton Gate 
  • Exeter – Sandy Park 
  • London – Twickenham Stadium 
  • Manchester – Salford Community Stadium 
  • Northampton – Franklin’s Gardens  
  • Sunderland – Stadium of Light  
  • York – York Community Stadium 

Sale Sharks’ Women’s Performance Lead Katy Daley-Mclean said: “The World Cup is the pinnacle for any player and we know that it is really important for generating interest in the women’s game too.  

“We are so passionate and committed to growing the game in the north of England so to have the biggest games and the best players coming to Manchester and to the Salford Stadium is massive for us. 

“I have no doubt Manchester will be the perfect host city.” 


While the full match schedule and ticketing details will be announced next year, the milestone two-year celebration and confirmation of dates and venues provides the ability for fans across England to start to plan their Rugby World Cup 2025 experience.  

Canada, England, France and New Zealand have already qualified for Rugby World Cup 2025 after finishing in the top four of RWC 2021, with the remaining positions to be filled via World Rugby’s new women’s international 15s tournament, WXV, and regional competitions in 2024. 

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “Following the record-breaking success of Rugby World Cup 2021 in New Zealand, women’s rugby has built an incredibly strong foundation and as one of the fastest growing sports in the world, RWC 2025 is set to take the game to the next level as the biggest celebration of women’s rugby with fans and players very much at its heart.  

“We look forward to continuing to collaborate with all our partners as we strive to deliver a world-class and historic event that will leave a lasting legacy, both in England and around the world as we aim to inspire millions of new players and fans and continue to grow the game we love.” 

Sue Day, RFU Chief Operating Officer and Chief Finance Officer and former Red Rose, added: “Through our continued investment in the women’s game, the Red Roses have already inspired a new generation of girls and boys to play rugby. Our home World Cup will further accelerate this growth and our continued partnership with World Rugby and the UK Government will support our aim to make that happen.  

“In taking Rugby World Cup 2025 to venues the length and breadth of England, we want to give fans who may not have watched rugby before, the chance to be inspired by world class sporting action.  It’s access to tournaments like these that can light a spark in people, and we hope it will encourage a new generation of people to give rugby a try for themselves.” 

UK Sports Minster, Stuart Andrew added: “Congratulations to all the selected host cities and venues.  

“Staging events like the Women’s Rugby World Cup will further cement the UK’s position as a global home of major sporting events. We support the RFU’s and World Rugby’s ambitious plans to host matches right across England and make the tournament the most well-attended in the history of the sport – setting a benchmark for future World Cups.   

“It promises to be a memorable occasion as we showcase the best of women’s rugby union to a worldwide audience, and continue to break barriers for women’s sport.” 

Independent Chair of the Rugby World Cup 2025 Board of Directors, Gill Whitehead, said: “Rugby World Cup 2025 represents the beginning of an exciting new future for Rugby World Cups as the first event to be held under a new delivery model with World Rugby and the RFU in partnership, working alongside the UK Government and we look forward to working together closely over the next two years.  

“The host cities and venues have been selected with accessibility in mind. No matter where you live in England, you should be within reach of a match. All the cities selected have demonstrated they share the same passion for the tournament and are committed in joining us on our mission to deliver the biggest and best women’s Rugby World Cup yet.” 

The women’s Rugby World Cup 2025 is supported by its official partners Mastercard, Capgemini and Gallagher. 

RWC 2025 will be the first Rugby World Cup hosted under the new joint-venture model (Local Operating Committee) between World Rugby and the RFU, with funding from the UK Government and support from our host city partners which will aim to optimise efficiency and impact across the tournament.  

Following the two years to go milestone, all eyes will turn to England later this year at the conclusion of the men’s Rugby World Cup 2023 as the road to England 2025 is launched alongside our partner venues and cities ahead of what promises to be a record-breaking event for women’s rugby in 2025. 

To be the first to hear all the latest news updates including ticketing information, fans can register here. 

Related articles

  • News


    Read more
  • Mens


    Read more