2 Sharks named in England’s squad to face Scotland

Curtis Langdon and Ben Curry have been named in England’s A starting 15 to face Scotland A on Sunday 27th June at Mattioli Woods Welford Road (2pm). You can watch the game live on Channel 4. 

While caps will not be awarded for this game, 11 uncapped players will start for England A who will be led by head coach John Mitchell.

Lewis Ludlow will captain the side at blind-side flanker, with Ben Curry at open-side flanker and Callum Chick at No.8.

Five Leicester Tigers players will start the game at their home ground – Mattioli Woods Welford Road.

Ellis Genge (loose-head prop), who will be vice-captain for the game, joins his club teammates Joe Heyes (tight-head prop), Harry Wells (lock), Dan Kelly (inside centre) and Freddie Steward (full back).

Curtis Langdon (hooker) and Charlie Ewels (lock) complete the forward pack.

Jacob Umaga will start at fly half and Harry Randall is at scrum half.  Ollie Lawrence is outside centre with Max Malins (left) and Adam Radwan (right) on the wings in attack.

Uncapped Jamie Blamire and Trevor Davison are named as finishers, alongside Beno Obano, Ted Hill, Lewis Ludlam, Dan Robson, George Furbank and Joe Cokanasiga.

Mitchell said: “This squad has grown over the past few weeks, is full of energy and competition and the players have given their all.

“Now the next step is for us to work even harder at becoming more cohesive in our final stages of our preparation.

“We are looking forward to a tough game against Scotland A. We’ve prepared well and will arrive ready for it.”

Sam Underhill (concussion) and Fraser Dingwall (calf) are unavailable for selection after sustaining injuries in training.

England will then play two Test matches at Twickenham Stadium – against USA (Sunday 4 July, 2pm KO) and Canada (Saturday 10 July, 3pm KO).


15. Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)
14. Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped)
13. Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors, 6 caps)
12. Dan Kelly (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)
11. Max Malins (Bristol Bears (loan) / Saracens, 7 caps)
10. Jacob Umaga (Wasps, uncapped)
9. Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, uncapped)
1. Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 28 caps)
2. Curtis Langdon (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
3. Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)
4. Harry Wells (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)
5. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 21 caps)
6. Lewis Ludlow (C) (Gloucester Rugby, uncapped)
7. Ben Curry (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
8. Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped)


16. Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped)
17. Beno Obano (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)
18. Trevor Davison (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped)
19. Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors, 1 cap)
20. Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 8 caps)
21. Dan Robson (Wasps, 12 caps)
22. George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 3 caps)
23. Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)


Sunday 27 June – England A v Scotland A, Mattioli Woods Welford Road

Sunday 4 July – England v USA, Twickenham Stadium 

Saturday 10 July – England v Canada, Twickenham Stadium  

Related articles