TEAM NEWS | Exeter Chiefs v Sale Sharks

George Ford starts in the Premiership for the first time while Tom Roebuck, Ryan Mills and Coenie Oosthuizen return to the side as Alex Sanderson makes five changes to his starting line-up to face Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park on Sunday (KO 1pm, live on BT Sport).

After appearing as a replacement in the defeat to Northampton last weekend, Ford takes the number ten shirt from the start against Rob Baxter’s men, meaning the league’s top points scorer, Rob du Preez, switches to outside centre alongside Mills.

After returning from international duty with England and Scotland respectively, Bevan Rodd and Ewan Ashman line up in the front row alongside Oosthuizen.

Towering lock Cobus Wiese starts again in the second row alongside former Chief Jonny Hill.

And after scoring a try as a replacement last weekend, flanker Sam Dugdale starts in the back-row with Jono Ross and JL du Preez.

Fresh from training with England, Ford teams up with Gus Warr at half-back for the first time with Mills and Du Preez outside them in the centres.

Tom O’Flaherty, Roebuck and Joe Carpenter, who made a league-leading 153 metres and beat seven defenders against the Saints, make up a pacy, powerful back three.

Tommy Taylor, Simon McIntyre and Nick Schonert will provide front-row support on the replacements bench, with Alex Groves and Josh Beaumont covering the rest of the forwards.

Raffi Quirke, Sam James and Arron Reed are the backs replacements.

Sale Sharks Starting XV:

15. Joe Carpenter, 14. Tom Roebuck, 13. Rob du Preez, 12. Ryan Mills, 11. Tom O’Flaherty, 10. George Ford, 9. Gus Warr; 1. Bevan Rodd, 2. Ewan Ashman, 3. Coenie Oosthuizen, 4. Cobus Wiese, 5. Jonny Hill, 6. Jono Ross ©, 7. Sam Dugdale, 8. Jean-Luc du Preez


16. Tommy Taylor, 17. Si McIntyre, 18. Nick Schonert, 19. Alex Groves, 20. Josh Beaumont, 21. Raffi Quirke, 22. Sam James, 23. Arron Reed.

Related articles

  • Foundation


    Read more