MATCH REPORT – Durham DMP Sharks 0 Sale Shark Women 31

Sale Sharks Women recorded their first victory of the 2021-22 Allianz Premier 15s in a dominant victory over DMP Sharks.

Captained by the experienced Hannah Field, Sale came out the blocks flying, Georgie Perris Redding enacting a turnover almost immediately from kick off.

Powerful carries from Sale’s pack ensnared DMP’s backs, creating the space for Lauren Delany to open the scoring with a scything line and carry.

Sale’s forwards were dominant in attack, and it didn’t take long for Leah Lyons to burst over the line from an impeccable lineout maul.

Catie Benson scored in similar route-one fashion, a trademark pick-and-go seeing the US Eagle crash under the posts for her third try of the season.

A lovely miss-pass and some darting feet saw Lisa Neumann float under the posts from her channel out wide, and marked the end of the first half.

The second-half proved more of a challenge for the visitor as Sale became encumbered by their penalty count.

Leah Lyons poached her brace with confidence, but in this period Sale’s most impressive work was done in defence.

Teleri Wyn Davis put in a quintessential second-row’s performance – quietly getting on with her evening’s work, clearing out rucks with unremitting vigour.

With Sale often unable to find the finishing blow, DMP began to look bright in attack and even made some promising line-breaks of their own.

But Sharks defence remained disciplined, culminating in a nail-biting try-line defensive effort at the death.

The departure from the field of an injured Jodie Ounsley added a bitter note to proceedings tonight, but with a first season win attained and no points conceded, Sharks will hope to sustain this form in fixtures to come.

BOL Foods Player of the Match: Teleri Wyn Davis


Sale Sharks Women:

15. Lauren Delany (VC), 14. Lisa Neumann, 13. Hollie Bawden, 12. Laura Perrin, 11. Jodie Ounsley, 10. Sarah Law, 9. Jess Roberts; 1. Catie Benson, 2. Leah Lyons 3. Nick James, 4. Teleri Wyn Davies, 5. Nicola Howat, 6. Lucy Winter, 7. Georgie Perris-Redding 8. Hannah Field (C)


16. Molly Kelly, 17. Aisha A Marzouq, 18. Katie Houghton, 19. Molly Morrissey, 20. Katana Howard, 21. Mhairi Grieve, 22. Lizzie Duffy, 23. Jess Kavanagh

 DMP Durham Sharks: 15. Thorpe, 14. Layzell, 13. Taylor, 12. Dadds, 11. Inman, 10. Cookland, 9. Broom; 1. Cockburn, 2. Bainbridge, 3. Herrick, 4. Gardner, 5. Wiesheu, 6. Gordon, 7. Picut, 8. Cowan


16. Pigford, 17. Hilditch, 18. Hunter, 19. Haynes, 20. Jennings, 21. Lewis, 22. Trimble, 23. Ishida


Referee: Nathan Howarth

ARs: Patrick Wheeler & Richard Arthur




Related articles

  • Foundation


    Read more