TEAM NEWS – Northampton Saints v Sale Sharks

Sale Sharks have named their side to face Northampton Saints in round seventeen of the Gallagher Premiership tomorrow afternoon. Consistency is becoming key for Director of Rugby Alex Sanderson as the Sharks supremo makes just three changes to his starting XV following three consecutive victories in the Premiership.

In the forwards, Ross Harrison, Curtis Langdon and Coenie Oosthuizen all retain their starting spots in the Sale front row following an impressive performance from the trio against Worcester in round sixteen.

Sanderson’s first change comes in the second row as Jean-Pierre du Preez steps in at lock in place of injured World Cup winner Lood de Jager. Jean-Pierre is joined by fellow South African Cobus Wiese in the engine room, following Wiese’s successful return from injury at the AJ Bell last weekend.


Jean-Luc du Preez remains in his preferred position at blindside flanker, and the Springbok is joined by Jono Ross who captains the Sharks from openside, whilst Jean-Luc’s twin brother Dan returns to number 8.

England starlet Raffi Quirke starts at scrum-half after an electric second-half cameo against the Warriors. He swaps places with Faf de Klerk and lines up alongside AJ MacGinty at half-back.

Rohan Janse van Rensburg returns to inside centre after Manu Tuilagi was called into Eddie Jones’ England camp ahead of the Six Nations clash with Wales next weekend. He’s joined by Robert du Preez, who has excelled for the Sharks since his switch to outside centre.

The South African duo have the pace and prowess of Arron Reed and Tom Roebuck outside them on either wing, with Sam James retaining his spot at full-back.

On the bench, Tommy Taylor, Simon McIntyre and Joe Jones act as front-row replacements, with Cameron Neild and new signing Dom Barrow providing further cover for the forwards.

Faf de Klerk, Connor Doherty and Byron McGuigan cover the backs.

Related articles

  • Foundation


    Read more