Five Sharks named in official England Rugby World Cup Training Squad

England men’s head coach Steve Borthwick has named his official training squad for the 2023 Rugby World Cup which kicks off in France in September.

The 41-player squad will assemble at The Lensbury on Sunday 2 July for England’s first official training camp.

Gallagher Premiership finalists Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Elliot Daly (Saracens), Ben Earl (Saracens), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Sale Sharks), Jamie George (Saracens), Jonny Hill (Sale Sharks), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Max Malins (Saracens), Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks) and Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks) are called into the England set-up following their mandatory rest period. Back-row forward Jack Willis is also named having recently won the Top 14 title with Toulouse.

The squad, which has a total of 1,519 England caps, also includes five uncapped players. The Premiership’s top tryscorer, Cadan Murley (Harlequins), is joined by back-row forward and Premiership Breakthrough Player of the Season, Tom Pearson (London Irish), hooker Theo Dan (Saracens), Gloucester Rugby’s loose-head prop Val Rapava-Ruskin, and No 8 Tom Willis, who finished the season with Bordeaux Bègles.

“We’re excited to be able to bring a full training squad together for the first time and focus on the next stage of our World Cup preparations,” said Borthwick.

“I am pleased with the balance of the squad, which blends experience with youth.

“Our preparation camps over the last three weeks have allowed those players who didn’t feature in the Premiership final to start to get physically equipped for a World Cup campaign.

“The attitude of the players has been excellent, and I have seen a group who have wholeheartedly committed to what we have asked of them.

“We hope today’s announcement is the start of something special for our supporters, who I know are eagerly anticipating the tournament as much as we are.”  

On Luke Cowan-Dickie’s absence from the squad, Borthwick added: “Despite all his incredible work and progress, Luke’s shoulder has not improved sufficiently for him to be considered for selection for the World Cup. We wish him a swift recovery and hope to see him back playing very soon.”

While not named in the 41-player squad, Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers), Ollie Lawrence (Bath Rugby), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), and Jack Walker (Harlequins) will continue their rehabilitation and are still considered for selection for England’s 33-player Rugby World Cup squad which will be announced in August.

Prior to start of the 2023 Rugby World Cup in September, England’s Summer Nations Series matches begin against Wales at the Principality Stadium on Saturday 5 August (kick off 5.30pm), with a return fixture at Twickenham Stadium scheduled a week later on Saturday 12 August (kick off 5.30pm).

England then travel to Dublin to face Ireland at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday 19 August (kick off 5.30pm), before returning to Twickenham Stadium to play Fiji on Saturday 26 August (kick off 3.15pm).

England’s official Rugby World Cup 2023 training squad

Forwards (23)

Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 6 caps)

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 100 caps)

Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 45 caps)

Theo Dan (Saracens, uncapped)

Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 14 caps)

Ben Earl (Saracens, 15 caps)

Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears, 48 caps)

Jamie George (Saracens, 77 caps)

Jonny Hill (Sale Sharks, 19 caps)

Maro Itoje (Saracens, 67 caps)

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 97 caps)

Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 19 caps)

Joe Marler (Harlequins, 79 caps)

George Martin (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)

Tom Pearson (London Irish, uncapped)

Val Rapava-Ruskin (Gloucester Rugby, uncapped)

David Ribbans (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)

Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)

Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 61 caps)

Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 25 caps)

Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 29 caps)

Jack Willis (Toulouse, 10 caps)

Tom Willis (Bordeaux Bègles, uncapped)

Backs (18)

Henry Arundell (London Irish, 7 caps)

Danny Care (Harlequins, 87 caps)

Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 14 caps)

Elliot Daly (Saracens, 57 caps)

Owen Farrell (Saracens, 106 caps)

George Ford (Sale Sharks, 81 caps)

Max Malins (Saracens, 18 caps)

Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 15 caps)

Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 72 caps)

Cadan Murley (Harlequins, uncapped)

Guy Porter (Leicester Tigers, 4 caps) 

Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 56 caps)

Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 21 caps)

Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 22 caps)

Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 51 caps)

Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers, 12 caps) 

Anthony Watson (Leicester Tigers, 55 caps)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 122 caps)

Rehabilitation (5)

Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers, 9 caps)

Ollie Lawrence (Bath Rugby, 11 caps)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 79 caps)

Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 68 caps)

Jack Walker (Harlequins, 3 caps)

Related articles