TEAM NEWS | Sale Sharks v Saracens

Sharks DoR Alex Sanderson has brought back the big guns for the visit of Saracens in the Gallagher Premiership as Manu Tuilagi, George Ford and captain Ben Curry all return after missing the narrow Champions Cup defeat to Leinster.  

Fit-again Jean-Luc du Preez and Argentina hooker Agustin Creevy also start against last year’s Premiership champions under the Friday night lights in front of a packed Salford Stadium (KO 7.45pm, LIVE on TNT Sports). 

Alex has picked an experienced front-row to face Mark McCall’s men, with Ross Harrison lining up at loosehead alongside Creevy and tighthead Nick Schonert. 

Cobus Wiese and Jonny Hill are back together in the second-row and Ernst van Rhyn, captain Curry and JL du Preez make up an abrasive back-row. 

Gus Warr and George Ford team up again at half-back, with Tuilagi returning to partner Rob du Preez in the centres. 

It’s an all-homegrown back three as wingers Tom Roebuck and Arron Reed start either side of full-back Joe Carpenter. 

England hooker Luke Cowan-Dickie and young props Tumy Onasanya and Asher Opoku-Fordjour make up the front-row replacements, with Josh Beaumont and Sam Dugdale covering the rest of the forwards. 

Backs Nye Thomas, Sam James and Sam Bedlow will give Alex more options off the bench. 

Sale Sharks Starting XV:   

15. Joe Carpenter , 14. Tom Roebuck, 13. Rob du Preez, 12. Manu Tuilagi, 11. Arron Reed, 10. George Ford, 9. Gus Warr 1. Ross Harrison, 2. Agustin Creevy, 3. Nick Schonert, 4. Cobus Wiese 5. Jonny Hill, 6. Ernst van Rhyn, 7. Ben Curry ©, 8. Jean-Luc du Preez.   


16. Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17. Tumy Onasanya, 18. Asher Opoku-Fordjour, 19. Josh Beaumont, 20. Sam Dugdale, 21. Nye Thomas, 22. Sam James, 23. Sam Bedlow.   

Related articles