De Klerk & De Jager honoured in the prestigious Laureus Team of the Year Award

The World Cup winners scooped the award in Berlin with Faf de Klerk present on stage to accept the accolade.

The South African national rugby team pipped an illustrious list of top international sporting teams to lift the award in the German capital. It’s the second time the Springboks have won the Laureus accolade – the team that lifted the 2007 Rugby World Cup were awarded the prize in early 2008.

English football giants Liverpool were also in the running after clinching the Champions League crown, as well as the US Women’s Football Team (Women’s World Cup winners), Mercedes-AMG Petronas (for winning the Formula One constructors’ title), the Toronto Raptors (first Canadian team to claim the NBA Championship) and the Spanish Men’s Basketball team (World Cup winners).

Both players are due to return to first-team action soon after stints on the sideline recovering from injury.

Related articles