Rising Sharks star Ewan Ashman named in Scotland Squad

Ewan Ashman has been called up to Scotland’s 37 man squad ahead of their summer series. 

The highly rated hooker has enjoyed a breakthrough season at the club featuring in 8 games since December 2020. Ewan’s consistent impact when coming off the bench for the Sharks has now propelled him into international contention with the 21 year-old Academy graduate looking to earn a full Scotland cap during their summer series.

With eight Scottish players unavailable following their selection for the British & Irish Lions’ own tour to South Africa the summer squad combines youth and experience and provides an opportunity for players two years out from a Rugby World Cup to demonstrate their international credentials.

The full group will convene on Tuesday 15 June to prepare for the England A fixture on Sunday 27 June, with a smaller squad then travelling to Romania and Georgia for the two Test matches on consecutive Saturdays, 10 & 17 July respectively.

Follow Ewan on Instagram

Follow Ewan on Twitter 



Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks) – Uncapped

Nick Auterac (Northampton Saints) – Uncapped

Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby) – Uncapped

Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) – 31 caps

Jamie Bhatti (Bath Rugby) – 18 caps

Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby) – 14 caps

David Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby) – 5 caps

Alex Craig (Gloucester Rugby) – 2 caps

Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) – Uncapped

Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps

Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors – 13 caps

Cameron Henderson (Leicester Tigers) – Uncapped

Robin Hislop (Doncaster Knights) – Uncapped

Jamie Hodgson (Edinburgh Rugby) – Uncapped

Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps

Kiran McDonald (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) CAPTAIN – 27 caps

Javan Sebastian (Scarlets) – Uncapped

Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs) – 12 caps

Grant Stewart (Glasgow Warriors) – 3 caps

George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps


Jack Blain (Edinburgh Rugby) – Uncapped

Jamie Dobie (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Cole Forbes (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 23 caps

George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 14 caps

Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby) – 4 caps

Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) – 25 caps

James Lang (Harlequins) – 6 caps

Rufus McLean (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Matt Scott (Leicester Tigers) – 39 caps

Charlie Shiel (Edinburgh Rugby) – Uncapped

Scott Steele (Harlequins) – 4 caps

Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap

Ross Thompson (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped

Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) – Uncapped


Ewan is sponsored by Acronis

Related articles