TEAM NEWS – Sale Sharks v Harlequins

Alex Sanderson has named his Sale Sharks side to face Harlequins in the penultimate round of the 2020/21 Gallagher Premiership season. The Sharks Director of Rugby includes Manu Tuilagi from the start as he makes nine changes to his squad following an emphatic victory over table-topping Bristol Bears last weekend. Will-Griff John, Jono Ross and Rohan janse van Rensburg also return to action after injury at the AJ Bell Stadium tomorrow night. 

 Club stalwart Ross Harrison takes his place in the Sharks starting line-up at loosehead prop, joining Akker van der Merwe and Coenie Oosthuizen in a highly experienced front-row, while Josh Beaumont returns to the second row alongside Jean-Luc du Preez. The powerful Springbok back-row remains at lock following a man of the match performance against Bristol.

Cameron Neild replaces Tom Curry at blindside flanker as the British and Irish Lion is rotated ahead of the Sharks’ first play-off appearance in fifteen years. Neild joins Ben Curry and the imposing Daniel du Preez in the Sale back row.

Faf de Klerk and AJ MacGinty will conduct an electric Sharks back line from half back as their partnership continues flourish at the business end of the season. The pair have the devasting power of Manu Tuilagi, complimented by the deft skillset of Sam James at their disposal in midfield and a back three including former Harlequin Marland Yarde alongside in-form Byron McGuigan on the wings with Simon Hammersley at full back.

Curtis Langdon, Bevan Rodd and Will-Griff John act as front-row replacements whilst Jean-Pierre du Preez and the returning Jono Ross provide further cover for the forwards from the bench.

Will Cliff returns to cover Faf de Klerk, with the impressive Robert du Preez acting as cover at fly-half. South African powerhouse Rohan Janse van Rensburg also returns following a month on the sidelines.

Related articles

  • Women's Rugby


    Read more