TEAM NEWS – Sale Sharks v Bristol Bears

Faf de Klerk captains the Sharks on his final appearance for the club, while Lood de Jager, Rohan janse van Rensburg and Simon Hammersley will also bid farewell to the AJ Bell Stadium in the final Gallagher Premiership fixture of the season against Bristol Bears (PRTV – KO 3pm).

The quartet are among eight Sharks leaving the club at the end of the season, with JP du Preez, AJ MacGinty, Cam Nield, and Curtis Langdon also saying their goodbyes on Saturday.

Sharks Director of Rugby Alex Sanderson makes four personnel changes to face Pat Lam’s side, with van Rensburg, Cobus Wiese, Hammersley and Sam James named to start.

A further two switches are positional, with the versatile Rob du Preez shifting from centre to fly-half to replace the injured AJ MacGinty, and JL du Preez moving to the back row to replace skipper Jono Ross, who misses the season finale after undergoing an operation to repair a dislocated toe.

In the forwards, Bevan Rodd, Akker van der Merwe and Nick Schonert make up an experienced starting front row with the trio supported by the imposing lock partnership of Wiese and de Jager.  

JL du Preez and Tom Curry line up in the back-row either side of the powerful Daniel du Preez at number 8. 

De Klerk and Rob du Preez are named at half-back by Sanderson, and they’ll have plenty of options outside them in midfield with van Rensburg at 12 and Sam James at 13.

Arron Reed keeps his place on one wing with fellow academy graduate Tom Roebuck and Hammersley, who will retire after this game, making up the back three. 

On the bench, Ewan Ashman, Ross Harrison and Coenie Oosthuizen are named as front-row replacements with Matt Postlethwaite and Ben Curry offering further cover for the forwards. 

Gus Warr, Connor Doherty and Kieran Wilkinson offer ample cover for the backs. 

Related articles

  • Foundation


    Read more