TEAM NEWS – Sale Sharks v Wasps

Marland Yarde is set to make his long-awaited return from injury alongside club captain Jono Ross as Steve Diamond names his Sale Sharks squad to face Wasps at the AJ Bell Stadium this weekend.

The two sides will meet at the AJ Bell Stadium on Saturday in a highly anticipated clash that will see the winner secure the top spot in pool one ahead of the final round of this year’s Premiership Rugby Cup group stages.

After an impressive performance last week at Allianz Park, Dimes rotates the starting line up again with numerous changes to the matchday-23.

Jono Ross makes will make his return from injury in front of a home crowd this weekend having spent 3 months on the side-lines over the summer. The Sale club captain underwent shoulder surgery at the end of last season to ensure he would be back to full capacity ahead of this year’s campaign.

The Sharks will have a full complement of England internationals at their disposal in the back three as Denny Solomona and Chris Ashton are joined by Marland Yarde who is back in the starting line-up almost a year to the day after suffering a horrific knee injury.

Other notable changes to the team see Akker van der Merwe set to make his full Sale debut against Wasps with the South African International starting at hooker alongside club stalwarts Ross Harrison and Will-Griff John.

Commenting on the selection this week, Diamond said: “This weekend is a good chance for our team to challenge Wasps, who are one of the best teams in the Gallagher Premiership. They had a fantastic result last week away at Northampton and pose threats all over the pitch, so it is set to be a good match up on Saturday. “

Sale Sharks Starting XV: 15. Chris Ashton, 14. Denny Solomona, 13. Sam James, 12. Cameron Redpath, 11. Marland Yarde, 10. Rob du Preez, 9. Embrose Papier; 1. Ross Harrison, 2. Akker van der Merwe, 3. Will-Griff John, 4. Bryn Evans, 5. Matt Postlethwaite, 6. Jono Ross (Capt), 7. Ben Curry, 8. Josh Beaumont

Replacements: 16.Rob Webber, 17. Bevan Rodd, 18. Coenie Oosthuizen, 19. James Phillips, 20. Sam Moore, 21. Will Cliff, 22. Luke James, 23. Byron McGuigan.

Related articles