Team News – Wasps Rugby v Sale Sharks – Gallagher Premiership Round 16

Sale Sharks announce nine changes to their matchday 23 after defeat to league leaders Exeter Chiefs in round 15, as Director of Rugby Steve Diamond rotates his squad ahead of the club’s first mid-week fixture.

The Sharks take on Wasps at the Ricoh Arena tomorrow evening live on BT Sport, and Diamond has taken the opportunity to rotate his squad for the first time since the Gallagher Premiership returned to action two weeks ago.

An almost complete change of personnel in the forwards sees Ross Harrison, Curtis Langdon and Jake Cooper-Woolley take their places in the starting line-up for tomorrow’s match. James Phillips and Matt Postlethwaite replace Lood de Jager and Jean-Luc du Preez in a powerful second row combination for tomorrow’s trip to Coventry, du Preez remains involved and takes his place as a replacement on an experienced bench.

A back row including academy graduates Cameron Neild and Ben Curry alongside South African international Daniel du Preez completes a new look pack for the Tuesday night fixture.

Will Cliff makes his first post lockdown start at scrum half and pairs up with AJ MacGinty for the first time this season after both players impressed from the bench on Friday night. The experienced half-back combination have the talents of Rohan Janse van Rensburg outside them with the 17 stone South-African returning to his usual position of inside centre having completed a 2 match suspension. England U20 captain Connor Doherty joins the powerful Springbok in midfield on his first Premiership start.

22-Year old Arron Reed also makes his first Gallagher Premiership start this season alongside Doherty, the winger replaces Bryon McGuigan who suffered a hamstring strain last Friday night. The electric academy prospect is joined in the back three by first team stalwarts Denny Solomona and Luke James.

Wasps Team:

15 Matteo Minozzi

14 Zach Kibirige

13 Malakai Fekitoa

12 Jimmy Gopperth

11 Josh Bassett

10 Jacob Umaga

9 Dan Robson

1 Ben Harris

2 Tommy Taylor

3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen

4 Joe Launchbury

5 Will Rowlands

6 Jack Willis

7 Thomas Young

8 Brad Shields

16 Tom Cruse

17 Tom West

18 Jack Owlett

19 Tim Cardall

20 Sione Vailanu

21 Ben Vellacott

22 Charlie Atkinson

23 Ryan Mills

Related articles