TEAM NEWS – Newcastle Falcons v Sale Sharks

Alex Sanderson has named his squad as Sale Sharks prepare for their Gallagher Premiership return on Boxing Day. Sale travel north to face Newcastle Falcons in round eleven with Sharks Director of Rugby Sanderson making just two changes to the side that last played against Ospreys in the Champions Cup. 

In an unchanged front-row, Bevan Rodd, Ewan Ashman and Nick Schonert all start after an impressive performance from the trio in South Wales. The imposing Jean-Luc du Preez joins World Cup winner Lood de Jager in the second-row again this weekend.

Sanderson’s two changes come in the Sharks back row as Jono Ross returns to action at blindside flanker. The Sale captain is joined by Sam Dugdale at openside and Daniel du Preez at number 8.

An unchanged backline marshalled by Raffi Quirke and AJ MacGinty includes Rohan Janse van Rensburg at inside centre alongside compatriot Robert du Preez in the thirteen shirt.

The South African duo have the finishing abilities of Marland Yarde and Tom Roebuck on either wing with former Falcon Simon Hammersley providing a safe pair of hands at full-back.

Curtis Langdon, Ross Harrison and Joe Jones are the front-row replacements on Sunday, with Matt Postlethwaite and Cameron Neild offering further cover for the forwards. Gus Warr covers the back-line alongside Sam and Luke James.

Sale Sharks Starting XV: 

  1. Simon Hammersley, 14. Tom Roebuck, 13. Robert du Preez, 12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11. Marland Yarde, 10. AJ MacGinty, 9. Raffi Quirke; 1. Bevan Rodd, 2. Ewan Ashman, 3. Nick Schonert, 4. Jean-Luc du Preez, 5. Lood de Jager, 6. Jono Ross (C), 7. Sam Dugdale, 8. Daniel du Preez.


  1. Curtis Langdon, 17. Ross Harrison, 18. Joe Jones, 19. Matt Postlethwaite, 20. Cameron Neild, 21. Gus Warr, 22. Sam James, 23. Luke James.



Related articles