TEAM NEWS | Sharks name squads Salford Stadium takeover

Sale Sharks v Newcastle Falcons

Will Riley starts at number eight, Raffi Quirke, Ross Harrison and Tom O’Flaherty return from injury while Cam Neild makes his first appearance since re-joining the club on a short-term deal as Alex Sanderson names a strong squad for the visit of Newcastle in the first of two pre-season fixtures.  

Fresh from his time with Scotland’s Six Nations squad, Arron Reed also starts in a pacey back-three with full-back Joe Carpenter, who signed a new three-year contract with the club this week. 

The Sharks Director of Rugby has picked an experienced front-row to face Steve Diamond’s men with Harrison starting at loosehead alongside Tommy Taylor and Nick Schonert. 

After making his England A debut last week, Ben Bamber teams up with Josh Beaumont in the second-row, while Neild and Riley make up a homegrown back-row with Sam Dugdale, who will wear the number seven shirt. 

Scrum-half Quirke starts alongside captain Rob du Preez in the half-backs and they’ll Rekeiti Ma’asi-White and Sam James outside them in the centres. 

Reed, O’Flaherty and Carpenter make up the rest of Alex’s XV. 

Sharks have named a larger than usual bench featuring Caldy RFC trialists Adam Aigbokhae and former Sharks Academy forward Ciaran Booth. 

There are also spots for academy players Ralph McEachran, Tye Raymont, Tom Burrow, Albert Bradhaw and Osian Roberts alongside more established names like Agustin Creevy, James Harper, Tristan Woodman, Nye Thomas, Obi Ene, Tom Curtis and Telusa Veainu. 

Sale Sharks Starting XV:   

15. Joe Carpenter, 14. Tom O’Flaherty, 13. Sam James, 12. Rekeiti Ma’asi-White, 11. Arron Reed, 10. Rob du Preez, 9. Raffi Quirke, 1. Ross Harrison, 2. Tommy Taylor, 3. Nick Schonert, 4. Ben Bamber, 5. Josh Beaumont, 6. Cam Neild, 7. Sam Dugdale, 8. Will Riley.   


Agustin Creevy, Ralph McEachran, Adam Aigbokhae, Tye Raymont, James Harper, Tom Burrow, Ciaran Booth, Tristan Woodman, Nye Thomas, Tom Curtis, Osian Roberts, Obi Ene, Telusa Veainu, Albert Bradshaw 

Sale Sharks Women v Trailfinders Women

Co-captain Lauren Delany marks her Ireland Six Nations call-up with a return to the starting line-up as Rachel Taylor makes four changes to her team for Sale Sharks Women’s first ever game at the Salford Stadium (KO 2pm, Saturday 9th March). 

USA Eagle Katana Howard also returns in place of Beatrice Rigoni, who is away with Italy on international duty, while Wales scrum-half Sian Jones starts. 

In the Sharks front-row, Red Rose Detysha Harper lines up alongside hooker Molly Wright and tighthead Catie Benson, who replaces fellow USA international Nick James. 

Erica Jarrell and Iona Antwis start together in the second-row and they’ll have an unchanged back-row of Vicky E Irwin, co-captain Georgie Perris-Redding and Jo Brown for company. 

Jones, who was called up to Wales’ Six Nations squad this week, and Vicky A Irwin are named at half-back, while Howard slots in at inside centre alongside Eti Haungatau in the centres. 

Hollie Bawden, Holly Thorpe and Delany make up the back three to face Giselle Mather’s Trailfinders. 

Niamh Swailes, Anne Young and Nick James are the front-row replacements and Polly Bowman and Jasmine Hazell will offer back up to the rest of the forwards. 

Mhairi Grieve, Ellen Ramsbottom and Minori Yamamoto will cover the backs. 

Sale Sharks Women Starting XV:

15. Lauren Delany (CC), 14. Holly Thorpe, 13. Eti Haungatau, 12. Katana Howard 11. Hollie Bawden, 10. Vicky A Irwin, 9. Sian Jones, 1. Detysha Harper, 2. Molly Wright, 3. Catie Benson, 4. Erica Jarrell 5. Iona Antwis, 6. Vicky A Irwin, 7. Georgie Perris-Redding (CC) 8. Jo Brown. 


16. Niamh Swailes 17. Anne Young, 18. Nick James 19. Polly Bowman, 20. Jasmine Hazell, 21. Mhairi Grieve, 22. Ellen Ramsbottom, 23. Minori Yamamoto. 

Related articles

  • News


    Read more
  • Mens


    Read more